MEETING MINUTES



January 26, 2023 Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Dakota Electric Association Board Members in Attendance

DISTRICT 1	DISTRICT 2	DISTRICT 3	DISTRICT 4
John DeYoe	Terry Donnelly	Ken Danner	Paul Bakken
David Jones	Bill Middlecamp	Margaret Schreiner	Stacy Miller
Jerry Pittman	Clay Van De Bogart		
Staff in Attendance			
Jon Beyer	Adam Heinen	Sara McGrane	Mjyke Nelson
Melissa Cherney	Betty Jo Kiesow	Greg Miller	Jeff Schoenecker
Corey Hintz			

Minutes

ТОРІС	DETAILS
Call to order	Chair Paul Bakken called the regular meeting of the Dakota Electric Association Board of Directors to order at 8:30 a.m. and presided. A quorum was present.
Agenda adoption	A motion was made, seconded, and carried to adopt the agenda.
Bill Holton remembrance	To honor the recent passing of Director Bill Holton, fellow directors paid tribute by sharing their favorite stories and memories.
Secretary appointment	Due to the passing of Director Bill Holton the Board held nominations to appoint a new secretary to fill the remainder of the one-year officer term.
District 2 open seat discussion	 The Board held discussions regarding the seat left open in district three due to the passing of Director Bill Holton. A motion was made, seconded, and carried to declare a vacancy and the open seat in district three will be filled with the 2024 annual election.

Consent Agenda	 A motion was made, seconded, and carried to approve the consent agenda as amended. The Eagan franchise fee resolution was withdrawn to be considered at a future meeting. Minutes of the December 22, 2022, board meeting December board legal fees Eidswold Substation land purchase – resolution 23-1-2
Resolutions	 A motion was made, seconded, and carried to approve the substation switchgear unit purchase – resolution 23-1-1. A motion was made, seconded, and carried by an 8-1 majority with one abstention for the approval and acceptance of offer to amend power purchase contract – resolution 23-1-4.
Risk Register and Strategic Plan review	 CEO Greg Miller provided an overview of the risk mitigation forms and noted the final draft of the strategic plan. A motion was made, seconded, and carried to approve the 2022-2025 Strategic and Operating Plan.
CEO report	CEO Greg Miller provided an overview of this month's report. Vice President Adam Heinen provided an update related to upcoming legislative requirements related to carbon free initiatives and the upcoming legislative gathering on February 21.
RTA Tutorial	Vice President Adam Heinen and Vice President Corey Hintz provided an overview of the rate tax adjustment (RTA) process.
2023 Youth Tour	Interviews for the 2023 youth tour applicants will take place on March 13 and 15, 2023. Directors John DeYoe, Bill Middlecamp, Jerry Pittman and alternate Clay Van De Bogart will help conduct the interviews.
Great River Energy	Directors Margaret Schreiner and Clay Van De Bogart provided a Great River Energy update including a safety update, perimeter security training of substation employees and regional meeting dates.
Minnesota Rural Electric Association	Director Stacy Miller provided a Minnesota Rural Electric Association update noting the availability of MREA weekly updates on Fridays during the legislative session, personnel changes and the 2023 MREA Annual Meeting February 21-22, 2023.
Election Committee report	Committee Chair Clay Van De Bogart provided an election update noting the candidate interviews are complete and results have been posted on the Dakota Electric election page.
Attorney update	Attorney Sara McGrane provided an overview of this month's work on Dakota Electric related topics including election issues and land easements.
NRECA Director Election Voting Delegate	Director John DeYoe was designated as voting delegate on behalf of Dakota Electric for the upcoming NRECA Director Election and Director Margaret Schreiner was designated as the alternate.

Executive Closed Session	\checkmark A motion was made, seconded, and carried to move into closed session.
	Chair Bakken provided an update related to the CEO Search.
	A motion was made, seconded, and carried to move into regular session.
Adjournment	A motion was made, seconded, and carried to adjourn at 12:15 p.m.