MEETING MINUTES



April 27, 2023 Annual Member Meeting Minutes

Rosemount Community Center 13885 South Robert Trail, Rosemount, MN 55068

ТОРІС	DETAILS
Call to order	Chair Paul Bakken called the annual meeting of the Dakota Electric Association Member-Owners to order at 7:00 p.m. and presided. A quorum was present and certified by Attorney Sara McGrane.
Ballots	Chair Bakken announced the final call for paper ballots at 7:02 p.m. and Survey & Ballots Systems representative Tony Hoff was present to accept. Voting was closed.
Agenda adoption	✓ A motion was made, seconded, and carried to adopt the agenda.
Notice of meeting	✓ A motion was made, seconded, and carried to accept the official notice of the annual meeting and to dispense with the reading.
Meeting minutes	✓ A motion was made, seconded and carried to approve the Minutes of the April 25, 2019 annual member meeting.
	Chair Paul Bakken Treasurer Jerry Pittman President and CEO Byan Hentges and Great River

Presentations

Chair Paul Bakken, Treasurer Jerry Pittman, President and CEO Ryan Hentges and Great River Energy Vice President and Chief Power Supply Officer Jon Brekke presented via pre-recorded videos on various topics. Treasurer Pittman noted that Dakota Electric experienced lower margins in 2022 due to increased supply costs, higher inflation and supply chain challenges. Treasurer Pittman also highlighted that Dakota Electric was issued a clean audit by Eide Bailly for the 2022 financials.

Vice President Brekke shared that Great River Energy provides service to 27 member-owned electric cooperatives throughout Minnesota and is the second largest electric power supplier in Minnesota and one of the largest generation and transmission cooperatives in the country. Great River Energy has over five thousand miles of transmission lines, over three thousand megawatts of generation capability that is considered renewable and total assets of \$3.8 billion. Vice President Brekke also highlighted a \$25 million patronage capital return to members on March 29, 2023, noting that \$100 million has been returned to members so far.

President and CEO Ryan Hentges shared Dakota Electric's commitment to safety as their highest priority for staff and members noting increased focus on best practices, educational opportunities and root cause analysis. CEO Hentges also shared the success of our vegetation management tree trimming initiative highlighting the importance of preventive maintenance and its positive impact on both safety and reliability. CEO Hentges then stood for questions.

Attorney McGrane reported the results of the election certified by Survey & Ballot Systems, Inc. the election service contractor. There were 103,845 eligible voters. Ballots received totaled 5,502 paper ballots, 1,479 electronic ballots and 10 onsite member meeting ballots with a total ballot return of 6,991 or 6.73%. Full results listed below.

District	1
District	1

John DeYoe, Incumbent	3,012 or 44.6%
Jeff Nelson	1,357 or 20.1%
Cody Larvick	997 or 14.8%
Steve Shurts	916 or 13.6%
James Schlichting	465 or 6.9%

District 2

District 3

Bill Middlecamp, IncumbentLaura Lee Berger
4,691 or 69.5%
2,061 or 30.5%

Election results

Margaret Schreiner, Incumbent	4,272 or 63.6%
Richard Billion	1,430 or 21.3%

Don Vasatka 1,017 or 15.1%

District 4 Seat 1

Paul Bakken, Incumbent 6,033 or 100%

District 4 Seat 2

Jenny Hoeft	1,882 or 27.9%
Greg Oxley	1,802 or 26.7%
Brian Freeman	1,213 or 18.0%
Michael Cahn	955 or 14.1%
lan Ziese	904 or 13.4%

Member Appreciation Day

Chair Bakken announced the annual Dakota Electric Member Appreciation Minnesota Zoo Event will be returning this year and will be held on Thursday, July 13, 2023.

Adjournment

✓ A motion was made, seconded, and carried to adjourn at 7:54 p.m.