This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Dakota Electric Association recently awarded Maralee Rother, Castle Rock, the Township Leader of the Year award. Each year, Dakota Electric seeks to recognize outstanding leadership with the award, and Dakota Electric Director Margaret Schreiner presented the award to Rother at a recent Dakota County Township Officers Association meeting.

Rother has been the secretary-treasurer of the Dakota County Township Officers Association since 2004. Rother also served on the Castle Rock Township Planning Commission for 30 years and as clerk of Castle Rock Township from 2001 to 2009. She has served many years volunteering with various organizations including the Dakota County Fair, the Hampton Area Boosters Club, Hampton Fun Fest and Senior Day.

Rother served on the committee that built a new town hall and has served as election judge for more than 20 years, along with many other volunteer activities.

Hank Tressel, who nominated Rother for the award, said, “Maralee has done a lot for the community and has been heavily involved for years in Castle Rock and the neighboring communities.”

“People who serve the local townships are very dedicated to their communities,” Peggy Johnson, Dakota Electric’s community relations director, said. “As a member-owned cooperative, Dakota Electric is pleased to help recognize people like Maralee who do outstanding work.”