/Press Release

Local students return from Washington D.C. trip

Dakota Electric’s Youth Tour students pose for a picture in front of the capitol building while in Washington D.C. (L-R): Davin Blix, Sanjana Molleti, Sarah Zipf, Emma Veldhuis and Nils Peterson. Five area high school students, sponsored by Dakota Electric Association, recently returned from a Washington D.C. trip-of-a-lifetime. Dakota Electric’s students joined more than [...]

2019-08-07T10:20:00-06:00August 7th, 2019|Categories: Press Release|

Llama trek, music and magic part of the fun at the MN Zoo during Dakota Electric’s Member Appreciation Event

Dakota Electric Association had 5,833 people attend the company’s 22nd annual Member Appreciation Event at the Minnesota Zoo on July 25. During the event, zoo admission was free to all Dakota Electric members and their families. A llama poses for a selfie with a couple at Llama Trek. A child greets LED Lucy [...]

2019-08-01T14:05:50-06:00August 1st, 2019|Categories: Press Release|

Dakota Electric assisted communities with many environmental efforts this spring

Farmington student volunteers planting trees for Arbor Day. Dakota Electric Association donated more than 5,700 tree seedlings this spring, as it wraps up a full schedule of assisting with community plantings and environmental events throughout its service territory. Since 1997, Dakota Electric has provided more than 164,900 tree seedlings in the local area. Each [...]

2019-06-26T13:36:00-06:00June 26th, 2019|Categories: Press Release|

Dakota Electric provides members free zoo event

Dakota Electric Association members and their families should mark the date for the twenty-second-annual Member Appreciation Event on July 25 from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. During the event, Dakota Electric provides complimentary admission to the Minnesota Zoo for those who purchase electricity from the cooperative. Tickets to the event are being included in electric bills, [...]

2019-06-21T13:08:01-06:00June 21st, 2019|Categories: Press Release|

Dakota Electric awards $160,000 in scholarships

One-hundred area high school students received scholarships this spring for their post-secondary education from Dakota Electric Association®. Others receiving part of the $160,000 unclaimed capital credits this year are students at Inver Hills Community College and Dakota County Technical College who will receive their scholarships in the fall. Dakota Electric has donated $1,659,495 since 1990 to [...]

2019-06-10T14:27:17-06:00June 10th, 2019|Categories: Press Release|

Dakota Electric rallies park volunteers for the 17th year of helping in local parks

More than 100 Dakota Electric Association members volunteered their time on May 4 at Lebanon Hills Regional Park in Eagan as part of the annual, statewide, Touchstone Energy GreenTouch Day. More than 100 volunteers participating in the Minnesota Touchstone Energy GreenTouch Day get their instructions for work at Lebanon Hills Regional Park. Volunteers of [...]

2019-06-20T08:47:57-06:00May 23rd, 2019|Categories: Press Release|

Dakota Electric and Great River Energy sponsor Twins 2019 Play Ball! Youth Clinic

Youth baseball players have an opportunity to learn baseball from staff at the Minnesota Twins organization during their visit to Farmington on May 18. Boys and girls from the ages of 6 to 13 can participate in the 2019 Play Ball! Minnesota Youth Clinic, which teaches basic fundamentals including hitting, fielding and throwing. No registration is [...]

2019-05-21T14:48:41-06:00May 21st, 2019|Categories: Press Release|

Members learn about reliability and new technology at Annual Meeting

President and CEO Greg Miller talked about implementing technology that will serve the members even better. Dakota Electric staff and board members provided the cooperative’s annual update on operations and finances at Dakota Electric Association’s Annual Meeting, held in the social hall at St. Michael’s in Farmington on April 25. President and CEO Greg [...]

2019-04-26T14:35:46-06:00April 26th, 2019|Categories: Press Release|

Dakota Electric named Co-op Purpose Award winner by national association

The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) named Dakota Electric Association® as the 2019 Cooperative Purpose Award winner at the NRECA annual meeting in Orlando recently. Dakota Electric’s board members accept the Cooperative Purpose award at the NRECA annual meeting: NRECA CEO Jim Matheson (left) and (former) board president Phil Carson (right); representing Dakota Electric’s [...]

2019-04-03T08:47:33-06:00April 1st, 2019|Categories: Press Release|