This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Jenna Conzemius, Cannon Falls, recently won the Jay York Scholarship for $300 awarded by Nobles Cooperative Electric, Worthington. Conzemius was one of five students Dakota Electric Association sponsored to attend the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association’s (NRECA) Youth Tour in Washington, D.C. this summer, and she was one of three selected from Minnesota for the York Scholarship.

Conzemius graduated from Cretin-Derham Hall High School in the spring and is attending the Carlson School of Management at the University of Minnesota pursuing a degree in accounting and finance. She also has an interest in government relations and political science. Conzemius was selected to page for the Minnesota State Legislature and worked as the volunteer coordinator for a congressional campaign.

The York Scholarship was established in 1994 by Minnesota’s electric cooperatives in recognition of Jay A. York. York was the first Minnesotan to head the NRECA and a prominent figure in rural electric cooperative issues for nearly 30 years. He was chairman and director for Nobles Cooperative Electric, which administers the scholarship fund.