This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

FARMINGTON, Minn. (April 1, 2008) — “Looking out for you” was the theme for Dakota Electric Association’s annual meeting, held March 27 at the cooperative’s Farmington office. The annual meeting provides an opportunity for member-owners to hear reports about the business and ask questions. This year’s theme highlighted the work Dakota Electric does to help its members-owners receive safe, reliable electric service, as well as the company’s community involvement and environmental efforts.

Members heard from Board Chair Jim Sheldon, Treasurer Clay Van De Bogart, President and CEO Greg Miller and Gary Connett of Great River Energy, Dakota Electric’s wholesale power supplier.

Miller’s presentation focused on rates, reliability, service, safety and the environment.

“Electric utilities across the nation use comparative data to evaluate their reliability efforts,” Miller said. “The data shows that Dakota Electric’s reliability is among the very best in the country.”

Miller discussed the cooperative’s efforts to promote energy conservation.

“Our CFL rebate program has been a huge success with members submitting rebates for more than 10,000 CFL bulbs last year alone,” Miller said.

Sheldon reported on the board’s accomplishments, including the return of $1.5 million in capital credits to Dakota Electric members.

Connett discussed Great River Energy’s role of providing wholesale power in an ever-changing landscape of environmental and legislative controls.

“We need reasonable climate change legislation,” Connett said. “We need to take our time at this and do it right. Otherwise it could be very detrimental to our economy.”

Van De Bogart discussed the financials including a $2.3 million operating margin for 2007, and Director Jerry Pittman discussed subsidiary business including an $800,000 dividend check from Energy Alternatives to Dakota Electric.

As a cooperative owned by those it serves, Dakota Electric holds director elections and the annual meeting each year. The membership re-elected all incumbent directors: Ron Swagger, Burnsville , district 1; Janet Lekson, Rosemount, district 2; Margaret Schreiner, Eagan , district 3; and Ray Nicolai, Hampton , district 4. A bylaw amendment also passed that clarifies that all candidates for director must submit an application for director and comply with all other requirements to be considered as a candidate for director.

A customer-owned, nonprofit utility since 1937, Dakota Electric Association provides electricity to more than 100,000 members throughout Dakota County and portions of Goodhue, Rice and Scott counties. Dakota Electric, a Touchstone Energy Partner, serves its member-owners with integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community.