This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Dakota Electric Association will hold its Annual Meeting on Thursday, April 7, at St. Michael’s Catholic Church social hall at 22120 Denmark Ave., Farmington (next to Dakota Electric’s office). The meeting begins at 7 p.m.; doors open at 6 p.m., and refreshments will be served before the meeting.

Dakota Electric members will have the opportunity to hear reports from officers and directors, ask questions and hear election results at the meeting. As a member-owned cooperative, members have the opportunity to vote for directors who oversee the cooperative.

Balloting materials will be mailed to members on March 22. Members can vote online ( using the e-signature included with their ballots, or by mailing the ballots in the postage-paid envelope to Survey and Ballot Systems. Ballots must be received no later than noon on April 7.

Ballots should not be dropped off nor mailed to Dakota Electric Association’s office. Also, if a person chooses to vote at the annual meeting, they must bring their ballot because no replacement ballots will be provided.

Following are the 16 candidates running for four seats on the board of directors (download profiles here):
District 1
Ron Swagger, Burnsville, incumbent
Ruthe Batulis, Burnsville
David Jones, Lakeville

District 2
Janet Lekson, Rosemount, incumbent
Jerry Hansen, Burnsville
Timothy Keegan, Apple Valley

District 3
Margaret Schreiner, Eagan, incumbent
Raymond Yarwood, Eagan (withdrawn)

District 4
Buzz Anderson, Eagan
Paul Bakken, Eagan
Jerry Brown, Apple Valley
William Frandrup, Hastings
David Leckey, Inver Grove Heights
Leo Nicolai, Hampton
Joan Volz, Welch
Victor Yermishkin, Apple Valley

All directors are elected by membership vote to serve three-year terms on the 12-person board of directors. Also on the ballot is a bylaw amendment that reduces the number of signatures a candidate needs to be placed on the ballot by petition.