This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

The Dakota-Scott Workforce Development Board has named Dakota Electric Association one of the Employers of Excellence for the third year in a row. Dakota Electric, along with three other mid-sized businesses and eight other small and large employers, was chosen for several reasons including employee retention, compensation and rate of growth, among other things.

group holding banner

Dakota Electric economic development director Mark Lofthus, senior human resources administrator Chris Dodge-Ratzlaff, Director Jack DeYoe, Director Margaret Schreiner, Director Janet Lekson, human resources manager Malinda Mehrhoff and Board Chair Jerry Pittman hold the banner acknowledging the honor of being named and Employer of Excellence.

The Workforce Development Board commissioned a study that provided businesses with a 40-question survey that evaluated their employment practices using numerous metrics including benefits, training, time off, employee injuries and more. Those who scored well on the survey were identified as Employers of Excellence. The survey results provide vital information to local companies about the practices used to attract and retain employees.

“We were honored to receive this award for the third year in a row,” human resources manager Malinda Mehrhoff said. “We work hard to provide a work environment that allows us to hire and retain quality employees who can focus on providing excellent service to our members.”

Other mid-size employers named were the Firefly Credit Union, Burnsville, The Smead Manufacturing Company, Hastings and Apothecary Products, Burnsville.