This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Pete Lundell named Dakota Spirit of Excellence Award winner

Spirit of excellence award winner

Pictured (L-R): Rosemount fire chief Richard Schroeder; award winner Pete Lundell and Dakota Electric board chair Gerald (Jerry) Pittman. 

Rosemount fire fighter Pete Lundell accepted the Dakota Spirit of Excellence Award Thursday, Oct. 10 at a ceremony at the fire station during the department’s open house.

Lundell is the winner of the 2019 Spirit of Excellence Award presented by Dakota Electric Association to recognize first responders and the brave work they do. The award highlights a first responder who demonstrates leadership, dedication to serving others, teamwork, integrity and other attributes.

Fire Chief Richard Schroeder speaks highly of Lundell and said he is very committed to his volunteer work with the fire department. Lundell has served 50 years with the department.

“The award was designed to recognize an individual who displays leadership, integrity, dedication to serving others, teamwork and more,” Dakota Electric’s Board Chair Jerry Pittman said during the ceremony.

Lundell was appreciative of the recognition and thanked the rest of the department, his family and Dakota Electric for the award. Along with the award for Lundell, Dakota Electric provided a $5,000 check to the fire department.

“I’d like to thank Dakota Electric for this award,” said Chief Schroeder, who added that they will use the $5,000 donation for apparel and equipment.

“Dakota Electric is happy to be able to provide a contribution to the department,” Pittman said, “and it is clear that Pete Lundell was an excellent choice for this year’s Spirit of Excellence Award.”

Dakota Electric donates $40,000 to local schools

unclaimed cc school donation

Pictured: Dave Webb (center), District 6 South St. Paul with Dakota Electric Board Directors (L-R), Paul Bakken, Janet Lekson, John (Jack) DeYoe, Margaret Schreiner and Clay Van De Bogart.

Dakota Electric Association recently awarded unclaimed capital credits money to fund specific needs at four different school districts. Districts 6, 194, 195 and 256 were recipients of the donations.

Superintendent Dave Webb attended a recent Dakota Electric board meeting to receive the donation on behalf of District 6.

“We are happy to be able to provide financial support from unclaimed capital credits to worthwhile educational programs,” Board Chair Jerry Pittman said.