This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Board Election Information

Do you want to serve on Dakota Electric’s Nominating Committee?

Dakota Electric Association is requesting member volunteers to serve on the Nominating Committee for the board of directors election. Members who desire to serve should email Melissa Cherney at [email protected] or call 651-463-6252. Requests must be received by 4:30 p.m. on Dec. 7, 2020. Volunteer members are drawn by lot for each district (two members from each district and one alternate from each district). Members will be notified of their selection on or about Jan. 6, 2021.

The Nominating Committee will meet late afternoon/evening on Jan. 26, 2021 (or alternate date of Feb. 9), to interview candidates.

Deadline for board candidates is Dec. 7

The following incumbent directors are seeking reelection to the board of directors at Dakota Electric Association’s annual meeting on April 29, 2021: Jerry Pittman in District 1, Clay Van De Bogart in District 2, Kenneth Danner in District 3, and Judy Kimmes in District 4. Any member in good standing may seek election for the board of directors in the district in which he/she resides.

Members interested in seeking election for a director seat should request an application from Melissa Cherney at [email protected] or call 651-463-6252. Completed applications must be received at Dakota Electric’s office by 4:30 p.m. on Dec. 7, 2020. Candidate interviews will be conducted the evening of Jan. 26, 2021 (or alternate date of Feb. 9).

Sales tax exemption for residential electric heat

A tax exemption is available for the months of November through April if you heat your home primarily with electricity. To determine eligibility, see the Minnesota Department of Revenue Sales Tax Fact Sheet 157 at

If you have questions regarding your eligibility for sales tax exemptions, please contact the Minnesota Department of Revenue at 651-296-6181 or toll free at 1-800-657-3777, or by email at

Seasonal charging time update

The charging time for electric-thermal storage (ETS) heating appliances and ETS water heaters has changed from 11 p.m. through 7 a.m. to a new time of 10 p.m. through 6 a.m. Electric vehicles on the storage program are not affected by this change. For questions, email [email protected] or call 651-463-6243.