This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Annual meeting is canceled

Dakota Electric Association® will hold its board election as usual with ballots being mailed to all members on April 11, but the annual meeting will not be held due to COVID-19.

Members can vote online ( using the electronic passcode included with the ballot, or by mailing the ballot in the postage-paid envelope to Survey and Ballot Systems. Ballots must be received by noon on April 28 to be counted. Ballots should not be dropped off or mailed to Dakota Electric Association’s office.

Following are the candidates running for four seats on the board of directors:

District 1

David Jones, Lakeville, incumbent

Jeff Nelson, Lakeville

Raj Rajan, Lakeville

District 2

Laura Lee Burger Apple Valley

Terry Donnelly, Farmington

Ruth Grendahl, Apple Valley

Steven Lucas, Apple Valley

Ray Yarwood, Apple Valley


District 3

Bill Holton, Apple Valley, incumbent

Aaron R. Decker, Farmington

Don Vasatka, Eagan


District 4

Stacy Miller, Eagan, incumbent

Greg Oxley, Eagan


All directors are elected by membership vote to serve three-year terms on the 12-person board of directors.

This year, ballots will not be able to be brought to the annual meeting since the annual meeting has been canceled due to the on-going concerns related to the coronavirus. The election results will be available on Dakota Electric’s website in the afternoon on April 28.

“As a member-owned cooperative,” Board Chair Jerry Pittman said, “we hold an annual meeting as a way to communicate with our members about the operation of the cooperative. This year, due to the fluid COVID situation, we decided to err on the side of caution and not hold a meeting.”

The cooperative will make annual meeting reports available online through video so that members still have access to the information. Members should watch the cooperative’s website and social media channels to access the reports at the end of April.