This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

FARMINGTON, Minn. (June 8, 2007) — Nineteen area high school students, six students from Inver Hills Community College and students from awarded scholarships totaling $24,600 from Dakota Electric Association, Farmington. The scholarship donation also includes money for Dakota County Technical College students who will be named in the fall.

Dakota Electric has donated more than $414,600 since 1990 to help students reach their goals through post-secondary education.

“This scholarship money comes from unclaimed capital credits and we are happy to invest in local youth,” Dakota Electric’s President and CEO Greg Miller said.

The following students received scholarships this year:

High School                        College Attending

Apple Valley H.S.
Jackie Chlan                        University of WI, Eau Claire
David Krejci                          Arizona State University

Burnsville H.S.    
Kerry Kraemer                     Stanford University

Cannon Falls H.S. 
Sarah Anderson                   North Dakota State University

Eagan High School    
Jacqueline Braemer             University of Wisconsin, River Falls
Holly Peterson                      Hofstra University

Eastview H.S., Apple Valley    
McKenna Belgarde                College of St. Benedict
Jennifer Przeslawski             Concordia University, St. Paul

Farmington H.S. 
Rachel Harstad                     University of Minnesota, Morris

Hastings H.S.    
Joel Finnicum                        Inver Hills Community College
John Vaith                             St. John’s University, Collegeville

Henry Sibley H.S., Mendota Heights  
Natalie Fiscus                       Minnesota State University, Mankato

Lakeville North H.S.    
Palwasha Hassas                  University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Lakeville South H.S.    
Savitree Persaud                    University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Northfield H.S. 
Tanya Thomforde                   Pepperdine University, CA

Randolph H.S.  
Jeremy Weiland                      Inver Hills Community College

Red Wing H.S.  
Kenneth Kuyath                      University of Wisconsin, River Falls

Rosemount H.S.    

Elizabeth Hale                         Bethel University

Simley H. S., Inver Grove Heights 
Aleshia Frederick                   Gustavus Adolphus

Inver Hills Community College 

Amy Forslund (Eagan)    Global Studies and Early Childhood
Annette Mooney (Roseville)    Undecided
Lance Reed    Nursing
Leanne Sandmeyer (Rosemount )    Nursing
Jessica Silge (Eagan)    Paralegal
Melissa Arbuckle    
The money for the scholarships comes from unclaimed patronage capital.

A customer-owned, non-profit utility since 1937, Dakota Electric Association provides electricity to more than 99,000 members throughout Dakota County and portions of Goodhue, Rice and Scott counties. Dakota Electric, a Touchstone Energy Partner, serves its member/owners with integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community.