This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

FARMINGTON, Minn. (Oct. 3, 2007 ) — Dakota Electric Association is now accepting applications for the Touchstone Energy Community Award, which recognizes individuals, businesses, non-profit and community groups that have shown a strong commitment to the community. The award acknowledges those whose efforts have impacted large numbers of people, collaborated and shared resources, addressed unmet community needs or provided necessary services.

In 2007, Dakota Electric will provide three Touchstone Energy Community Awards. Accompanying each award is a check for $500. One award recipient will be chosen to contend against other award winners from around the state for the statewide Touchstone Energy Community Award and a cash prize of $1,000. The statewide award winner will be recognized at the Minnesota Rural Electric Association annual meeting in February.

“As a member-owned electric cooperative serving this area, we are committed to community involvement,” President and CEO Greg Miller said. “This award allows us to highlight and encourage those individuals or organizations that have shown an outstanding commitment to the community.”

The deadline for applications is November 1. Applicants are evaluated on project scope, use of resources and the impact or value to the community. To receive judging criteria and an application for the award, call Mary Jo Fischer at 651-463-6301, or find it on the web at

Open and print the current application 

A customer-owned, non-profit utility since 1937, Dakota Electric Association provides electricity to more than 99,000 members throughout Dakota County and portions of Goodhue, Rice and Scott counties. Dakota Electric, a Touchstone Energy Partner, serves its member-owners with integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community.