This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

FARMINGTON, Minn. (June 6, 2008) — Seventeen area high school students and 13 Dakota County Technical students were awarded scholarships for their continuing education from Dakota Electric Association, Farmington. The donation to local students totaled $24,600 and includes money for Inver Hills Community College students who will be named in the fall.

Dakota Electric has donated $439,295 since 1990 to help students reach their goals through post-secondary education.

“This scholarship money comes from unclaimed capital credits, and we are happy to invest in the future through local youth,” Dakota Electric’s President and CEO Greg Miller said.

The following students received scholarships this year:

High School – College Attending

Apple Valley H.S.
Amanda Solinger, Hamline University
Michael Sikich, St. John’s University

Burnsville H.S.
Allison Berquist, Iowa State University

Cannon Falls H.S.
Ashley Murphy, MN State Mankato

Eagan High School
Hannah Kroonblawd, Concordia Academy

Eastview H.S., Apple Valley
Shree Dharampaul, Normandale College

Farmington H.S.
Katee Rotty, College of St. Benedict

Hastings H.S.
Michelle Schweich, University of WI., River Falls   
Tyler Patterson, San Francisco State Univ., CA

Henry Sibley H.S., Mendota Heights
Sarah Eide, Dakota County Technical College

Lakeville North H.S.
Ashley Murphy, MN State Mankato

Lakeville South H.S.
Blair Butler, Luther

Northfield H.S.
Matthew Hagen-Stowe, University of ND, Grand Forks

Randolph H.S.
Elizabeth Dinesen, Augsburg College

Red Wing H.S.
Hayden Balow, University of MN Duluth

Rosemount H.S.
Emily Werness, University of MN, Duluth

Simley H. S., Inver Grove Heights

Jeanette Scott, Wartburg College

Dakota County Technical College – Field of Study

Ashreen Mursalim, LPN
Youngsook Lee, Pre-Dental Assistant
Cheryl Weller, Child Development
Brett Graham, Welding
Shawn Leetz, Interior Design
Luis Romero, Heavy Duty Truck Tech
Ashley Fritze, Architectural
Gladys Makori, LPN
Thanh Oan Bio, Medical Tech
Carena Hauer, Accounting
Charles Mtonga, LPN
Zachary Pettit, Electrical Lineworker
Julia Neff, Wood Finishing

The money for the scholarships comes from unclaimed patronage capital.

A customer-owned, non-profit utility since 1937, Dakota Electric Association provides electricity to more than 100,000 members throughout Dakota County and portions of Goodhue, Rice and Scott counties. Dakota Electric, a Touchstone Energy Partner, serves its member/owners with integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community.