This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

FARMINGTON, Minn. (Dec. 31, 2008) — Dakota County Technical College and Inver Hills Community College has named their scholarship recipients for the 2008-2009 school year. The scholarship money is part of $24,600 that was awarded by Dakota Electric Association earlier in 2008 to high school and college students.

The annual scholarship awards come from unclaimed capital credits, which are profits that are normally returned to those who purchase electricity from the cooperative. When the cooperative cannot locate previous members, the state of Minnesota allows the company to distribute the money as scholarships.

Through this program, Dakota Electric has donated $439,295 since 1990 to help students reach their goals through post-secondary education.

The following students were named as recipients by the colleges:
Dakota County
Technical College      City                        Field of Study

Anab Abtow               Burnsville                 Dental Assistant
Sara Bauer                Rosemount               Child Development
Zene Jebessa             Apple Valley              Practical Nursing
Sobia Kanwar            Rosemount                Dental Assistant
Aquilla Kennedy         South St Paul            Automotive Technician
Megan LaBuda           Inver Grove Heights  Dental Assistant
David Maxwell           Burnsville                 GM Automotive Service Education
Joann Nagy               Farmington               Interior Design
Randy Nguyen           Burnsville                 GM Automotive Service Education
Terrin Pettis               Farmington              Practical Nursing
Miguel Ceniceros        Lakeville                 Concrete and Masonry
Andrew Lund              Eagan                    Concrete and Masonry
Josh Weise                 Lakeville                Concrete and Masonry

Inver Hills
Community College       City               Field of Study
Fall 2008

Anna Burk                   St. Paul               Nursing
Julie Cooper                Farmington          Paralegal
Angel Ertle                 Hudson, WI          Human Services
Maria Garcia               W. St. Paul           Nursing
Paul Hinz                    Lakeland              Business Management
Carol Logan                Cottage Grove      Business Administration
Spring 2009
Semira Ahmed            Eagan                  Nursing
AnthonyJanos             Farmington           Business Management
Farhiya Abdi               St. Paul                Nursing
Julie Cooper               Farmington           Paralegal
Janet Gray                 Ellsworth              Social Work