This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

FARMINGTON, Minn.— Nineteen area high school students and five Inver Hills Community College students received scholarships this spring for their continuing education from Dakota Electric Association. The donation to local students totaled $24,600 and includes money for approximately 13 Dakota County Technical College students and about six Inver Hills Community College students who will be named in the fall.

Dakota Electric has donated $463,895 since 1990 to help students reach their goals through post-secondary education.

“This scholarship money comes from unclaimed capital credits, and we are happy to invest in the future through local youth,” Dakota Electric’s President and CEO Greg Miller said.
The following students received scholarships this year:

Apple Valley H.S.          Chun Chen & Lucas Haaker 
Burnsville H.S.              Emma Martin Berkeley
Cannon Falls H.S.          Brianna Baartman
Eagan High School         Emily Kimball & Sarah Peterson
Eastview H.S.                Tram Vo & Taylor Rasmussen
Farmington H.S.             Rilee Carufel 
Hastings H.S.                 Eric Laine & Chase Aho
Henry Sibley H.S.,          Darrius Strong
Lakeville North H.S.        Margaret Crenshaw
Lakeville South H.S.        Akshay Hulasare
Northfield H.S.                David Wett
Randolph H.S.                 James Schiller
Red Wing H.S.                Tony Clemons
Rosemount H.S.              Justina Hausmann
Simley H. S.,                  Yazaira Acevedo

Inver Hills Community College, Spring 09 
Semira Ahmed, Eagan,  Nursing
Anthony Janos, Farmington,  Business Management
Farhiya Abdi, St. Paul,  Nursing
Julie Cooper, Farmington,  Paralegal
Janet Gray, Ellsworth,  Social Work

The money for the scholarships comes from unclaimed patronage capital.