This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Dakota Electric Association recently awarded Steve Bloomstrand, Nininger Township Supervisor, and Terry Holmes, Empire Township Supervisor, with Township Leader of the Year awards. Each year, Dakota Electric seeks to recognize outstanding township leaders for the award.

Bloomstrand has served Nininger Township for 21 years. Bloomstrand has also been fire marshal for 21 years and is currently president of the Rural Fire Association. He oversaw the building of the new township hall in 2004, and he has helped guide the growth of the township over the years.

“Throughout his years of service, he has dedicated himself to always look for the welfare of all the residents,” said Karen Bremer, a Nininger township board supervisor. “He has an outstanding ability to get the job done.”

Holmes has been the Empire Township supervisor since 1987. He currently serves on the U-More development board, the Vermillion Highlands Steering Committee, the U-More Rosemount Research and Outreach Center and the Board of Dakota County Township Officers. Holmes has helped develop a working annexation agreement with the city of Farmington, completed a wetland management plan for the Vermillion River and served on the Vermillion River Watershed Planning Commission, the Dakota Communications Center Steering Committee and various other capacities over the years.

“He’s a fine upstanding man that tells it like it is and works out situations in a logical manner,” Hank Tressel, Ravenna Township board member said. “He seeks the wider view, working together with others.”

“A lot of work gets done in Dakota County townships by dedicated people,” Peggy Johnson said. “As a member-owned cooperative, Dakota Electric is pleased to help recognize those who do outstanding work.”

Dakota Electric established the Township Leadership award in 1996 to recognize township officials in Dakota County who provide exemplary community service and provide strong leadership while serving their local township.