This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Nineteen area high school students and five Inver Hills Community College students received scholarships this spring for their continuing education from Dakota Electric Association. The donation to local students totaled $24,600 and includes money for approximately 12 Dakota County Technical College students and about six Inver Hills Community College students who will be named in the fall.

Dakota Electric has donated $488,495 since 1990 to help students reach their goals through post-secondary education.

“This scholarship money comes from unclaimed capital credits, and we are happy to invest in the future through local youth,” Dakota Electric’s President and CEO Greg Miller said.

The following students received scholarships this year:

High School  College Attending
 Apple Valley H.S.  
 Stephanie Diamond  St. Olaf College, Northfield
 Anna Ma  U of M, Twin Cities
 Burnsville H.S.  
 Shannon Clifford

 Leavey, School of Bus., Santa Clara Univ
 Cannon Falls H.S.  
 Harlie Miller  U of M, Duluth
 Eagan H.S.  
 Shannon Kinley  U of M, Duluth
 Derek Wilson  Hamline University
 Eastview H. S., Apple Valley  
 Sophia Korr  St. Olaf Collage, Northfield
 Zachary Gharffari-Nikou  U of W, Madison
 Farmington H.S.  
 Deanna Stark  Augsburg College
 Hastings H.S.  
 Jeremy Wick  IHCC
 Aaron Schiller  U of M, Duluth
 Henry Sibley H.S., Mendota Heights  
 Nancy Flores  St. Catherine
 Lakeville North H.S.  
 Viet-Anh Nguyen  St. Thomas
 Lakeville South H.S.  
 Ryan Dorendorf  ND State University
 Northfield H.S.  
 Jakob Anderson  St. Olaf College, Northfield
 Randolph H.S.  
 Gretchen Enersen  MN State U, Mankato
 Red Wing H.S.  
 Amanda Kelly  U of M, Duluth
 Rosemount H.S.  
 Katherine Morris  U of W, Madison
 Simley H.S. Inver Grove Heights  
 Starsha Vang  St. Cloud State
 Inver Hills Community College
 Field of Study
 Julie Cooper, Farmington  Paralegal
 Flerida Cummings, S. St. Paul  AA
 Matthew Menzel, Brooklyn Center  Nursing
 Lori Haferman, Bloomington  Nursing
 Lotus Lofgren, St. Paul  Neuroscience Research