This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Dakota Electric Association recently awarded Donald Marthaler, Randolph Township Supervisor, the Township Leader of the Year award. Each year, Dakota Electric seeks to recognize outstanding leadership with the award.

Marthaler has been the Randolph Township supervisor for 30 years and has served on the Randolph Fire Department for 26 years, 5 years as chief. He has been active in the local community and currently serves on the Rural Solid Waste Commission and as chairman of the board of supervisors. In the past, he has served on the North Cannon Water Management Organization.

William Callister, who nominated Marthaler for the award, said he has done an excellent job of caring for the township’s roads. Marthaler is also knowledgeable of the ordinances and is sensitive to the township’s needs.

“Donald is very deserving of this recognition,” Callister said. Dakota Electric established the Township Leadership award in 1996 to recognize township officials in Dakota County who provide exemplary community service and demonstrate strong leadership while serving their local township.

“People who serve the local townships are very dedicated to their communities,” Peggy Johnson said. “As a member-owned cooperative, Dakota Electric is pleased to help recognize people like Don who do outstanding work.”