This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Dakota Electric Association recently awarded Donna Otto, Hampton, the Township Leader of the Year award. Each year, Dakota Electric seeks to recognize outstanding leadership with the award, and Dakota Electric Director Margaret Schreiner presented the award to Otto at a recent Dakota County Township Officers Association meeting.

Otto has been the Hampton Township Supervisor since 2000. She is the first and only woman to serve as supervisor on the Hampton Board. Otto has served the local community in many ways, including board member of the Dakota Township Officers Association, member of the Planning Commission, member of the Dakota County Historical Society, advisory board member at the Dakota County Technical College Secretarial Training, member of the St. Pius Church Circle and advisory board member of the Cannon Falls Hospital. Otto previously worked as the executive secretary at United Hospitals and served on the board of Professional Secretaries International.

“She has served above and beyond,” said Hank Tressel, who nominated Otto for the award. “She is willing to work for no personal gain, just to make Dakota County a better place.”

“People who serve the local townships are very dedicated to their communities,” Peggy Johnson, Dakota Electric’s community relations director, said. “As a member-owned cooperative, Dakota Electric is pleased to help recognize people like Donna who do outstanding work.”