This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.
Angel Foundation, Farmington Boy Scouts & Hope For Tomorrow named runners-up

Dakota Electric Association named ProAct, Eagan, as the local 2012 Touchstone Energy Community Award winner. Angel Foundation, Minneapolis, Farmington Boy Scouts, and Hope For Tomorrow, Lakeville, were named runners-up, and each of the four applicants received a plaque and a check for $500.

“Dakota Electric is proud to be able to recognize these organizations doing great work in our local communities,” said Greg Miller, Dakota Electric’s president and chief executive officer. “As a member-owned cooperative, we are committed to our local communities and this is a way to encourage and honor those who are like-minded.”

ProAct ( provides life enhancing vocational and personal growth opportunities for people with disabilities and barriers to employment and community inclusion. Individuals served by ProAct work in a variety of jobs in many businesses in and around the Twin Cities area.

The Angel Foundation ( provides financial assistance for adult cancer patients’ non-medical basic needs expenses and provides education and support for families. The organization has granted more than $3 million to thousands of cancer patients since 2001. In 2012, there were 88 cancer patients who received more than $48,000 in financial assistance in Dakota County.
Farmington Boy Scouts helps boys develop their leadership abilities, learn life-long skills and serve their local community. Hope For Tomorrow provides mentoring for 8th grade girls in Lakeville.

The Touchstone Energy Community Award recognizes organizations for outstanding contributions to the local community.
The ProAct award application will be submitted for the statewide Minnesota Touchstone Energy Community Award. The statewide award recipient will be selected from local award winners throughout Minnesota and will receive $1,000. The Minnesota Touchstone Energy Community Award will be announced in February, during the Minnesota Rural Electric Association’s annual meeting in St. Paul. Dakota Electric’s applicants, Cheerful Givers and Kids ‘n Kinship have been past winners of the statewide Minnesota Touchstone Energy Community Award.

A customer-owned, non-profit utility since 1937, Dakota Electric Association provides electricity to more than 100,000 members throughout Dakota County and portions of Goodhue, Rice and Scott counties. Dakota Electric, a Touchstone Energy Partner, serves its member/owners with integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community.