This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Military Family Support Group & Town Square Television named runners-up

Dakota Electric Association named Miracle League Project, Lakeville, as the local 2014 Touchstone Energy Community Award winner. Military Family Support Group, Burnsville, and Town Square Television, Inver Grove Heights, were named runners-up, and each of the non-profits received a plaque and a check for $500.

“Dakota Electric is proud to be able to recognize these organizations doing great work in our local communities,” said Greg Miller, Dakota Electric’s president and chief executive officer. “As a member-owned cooperative, we are committed to our local communities and this is a way to encourage and honor those who are like-minded.”

Lakeville Baseball Miracle League Project’s mission is to provide opportunities for children with disabilities in the south metro area to play Miracle League Baseball, regardless of ability ( The league provides eight weeks of baseball bringing smiles and enjoyment to the players and volunteers alike.

Military Family Support Group provides assistance to deployed military personnel and their families. The organization’s main focus is to provide packages to personnel serving in combat zones and caring for the families back home. The organization has helped more than 2,000 people so far.  
Town Square Television serves seven cities in Northern Dakota County with local programming including high school sports, music, arts, local government, multi-faith, education, news, community activities and more. Town Square airs more than 1,500 programs each year and provides equipment and facilities for community members to produce their own TV shows.

The Touchstone Energy Community Award recognizes organizations for outstanding contributions to the local community.

Miracle League Project’s award application will be submitted to the statewide Minnesota Touchstone Energy Community Award. The statewide award recipient will be selected from local award winners throughout Minnesota and will receive $1,000. The Minnesota Touchstone Energy Community Award will be announced in February, during the Minnesota Rural Electric Association’s annual meeting in St. Paul.