This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Election Results

Jerry Pittman
District: 1 | Incumbent

Clay Van De Bogart
District: 2 | Incumbent

Kenneth Danner
District: 3 | Incumbent

Judy Kimmes
District: 4 | Incumbent

While this year’s Annual Meeting was canceled due to COVID-19, the election process continued with voting taking place online and through mail. Dakota Electric Association’s membership reelected four incumbents and passed an amendment regarding vacancies under Article III, Section 5 of the Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws. 

Members who wish to view the annual meeting reports can watch them here. Here is a brief overview of the reports:

President and Chief Executive Officer Greg Miller highlighted the cooperative’s success navigating the COVID-19 pandemic, completing additional infrastructure upgrades in 2020 and continuing the advanced meter upgrade project.

Board Chair Jerry Pittman discussed providing funds to emergency assistance agencies during the pandemic, continuing the cooperative’s commitment to community and managing board business while meeting remotely. 

Board Treasurer Jim Sheldon provided the 2020 financial report.

Summer Rates Now in Effect

Dakota Electric’s summer rates reflect the cost we pay for wholesale electricity when increased energy use drives up the demand and cost of electricity. Summer rates go into effect every June, July and August. 

By reducing your energy use, you can lower your monthly electric bill this summer. Looking for more ways to save? Call our Energy Experts® at 651-463-6243 or email [email protected] and ask about programs, rebates and current promotions perfect for you.

We’re Resuming Collections

We are resuming collection activity including disconnections and late fees based on account status. Disconnect notices will be mailed to members with past-due accounts starting June 1. 

If you need more time to pay the amount owed, we will work with you to establish a payment plan for your account. You can contact us Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at 651-463-6212 or 1-800-874-3409, or email [email protected].

Energy Assistance Resources Available

Scott-Carver-Dakota CAP Agency
651-322-3500 | 2496 145th St. W., Rosemount, MN 55068

360 Communities
952-985-5300 501 East Highway 13, Suite 112, Burnsville, MN 55337

Dakota County Economic Assistance
651-554-5611 | 1 Mendota Road W., Suite 100, West St. Paul, MN 55118

Goodhue County Health & Human Services
651-385-3200 | 426 West Ave., Red Wing, MN 55066

Three Rivers Community Action, Inc.
507-316-0610 | 1414 North Star Dr., Zumbrota, MN 55992

Rice County Social Services
507-332-6115 | 320 3rd St. NW., Faribault, MN 55021

Scott County Human Services 952-445-7751 | 200 4th Ave. W., Shakopee, MN 55379