This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

FARMINGTON, Minn. (April 28, 2022) — Dakota Electric Association’s membership cast their vote in the cooperative’s annual election. This year, three incumbents were re-elected, and one new board director was elected to serve on the board of directors.

The election results are as follows:

District 1 – David Jones, Lakeville, (incumbent) received 4,418 votes; Raj Rajan, Lakeville, received 1,703 votes and Jeff Nelson, Lakeville, received 1,486 votes.

District 2 – Terry Donnelly, Farmington, received 2,075 votes; Steven Lucas, Apple Valley, received 1,712 votes; Ruth Grendahl, Apple Valley, received 1,668 votes; Laura Lee Berger, Apple Valley received 1,425 votes; and Ray Yarwood, Apple Valley, received 767 votes.

District 3 – Bill Holton, Apple Valley, (incumbent) received 3,770 votes; Aaron R. Decker, Farmington, received 2,287 votes; and Don Vasatka, Eagan, received 1,477 votes.

District 4 – Stacy Miller, Eagan, (incumbent) received 4,809 votes; Greg Oxley, Eagan, received 2,856 votes.

While the annual meeting was canceled due to COVID-19, the elections process continued as normal with voting taking place by mail and online.

CEO Greg Miller discussed the progress of the company’s advanced meter upgrade project, keeping the lights on during COVID, assisting members who were having a hard time paying their bills and more. Miller highlighted the cooperative’s five strategic pillars: rates, reliability, service, concern for the environment and safety.

“Our rates again remained fairly flat,” Miller said, while other utilities are seeing increases. He also added, “Our reliability numbers remain among the very best in the country.”

Board Treasurer Bill Middlecamp provided a report on the solid 2021 financials, and Board Chair Jerry Pittman discussed the board’s strategic planning, capital credit payouts and community donations.

“The board decided not hold an in-person annual meeting this year due to safety concerns and lead times,” Pittman said. “However, we still wanted to provide the same information you would have received at the annual meeting.”

Dakota Electric members who wish to view the annual report video can see it online by going to the “annual meeting and elections” page under “Board of Directors and Leadership” section. It can also be found on the cooperative’s YouTube channel.

A customer-owned, not-for-profit utility since 1937, Dakota Electric Association provides electricity to more than 110,000 members throughout Dakota County and portions of Goodhue, Rice and Scott counties. Dakota Electric, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, serves its member-owners with integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community.