This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.
group holding sign about award

Representing Dakota Electric Association at the award event was (L-R): director Bill Middlecamp, director Margaret Schreiner, human resources generalist Kaitlyn Simon, human resources manager Amy Hansen, community relations director Peggy Johnson, director Clay Van De Bogart, and director Jerry Pittman.

The Dakota-Scott Workforce Development Board has named Dakota Electric Association one of the Employers of Excellence for the fifth time. Dakota Electric, along with five other businesses, was chosen for several reasons including employee retention, training and development practices and employee benefits, among other things.

The Workforce Development Board commissioned a study that provided businesses with a 40-question survey that evaluated their employment practices using numerous metrics including benefits, training, time off, employee injuries and more. Those who scored well on the survey were identified as Employers of Excellence. The survey results provide vital information to local companies about the practices used to attract and retain employees.

“We were honored to receive this award for the fifth time,” human resources manager Amy Hansen said. “We strive to provide a work environment that allows us to hire and retain quality employees who can focus on providing excellent service to our members.”

Other employers named were Advanced Wireless Communications, Lakeville, Apothecary Products, Burnsville, Bankers Equipment Service, Burnsville, Better Business Bureau, Burnsville and Midwest Industrial Coatings, Shakopee.