This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.
Jake holding the award with Chief Whitson.

Jake Toledo and Chief Whitson.

Randolph Hampton Fire District Captain Jake Toledo accepted the Dakota Spirit of Excellence award Monday night at a ceremony at the fire station.

Toledo is the winner of the 2018 Spirit of Excellence award presented by Dakota Electric Association to recognize first responders and the brave work they do. The award highlights a first responder who demonstrates leadership, dedication to serving others, teamwork, integrity and other attributes.

Fire Chief Kevin Whitson speaks highly of Toledo and said he is very committed to his volunteer work with the fire department. Toledo has served 10 years with the department and was promoted to captain last year.

“Jake has been a very dedicated fireman to this department for the last 10 years,” Whitson said. “He has always been a very hard working, trustworthy and talented guy to be around. I’m very proud to have him as part of the department.”

“He is passionate about being a fire fighter and continues to further his education in all phases of the industry,” Dakota Electric’s President and CEO Greg Miller said during the ceremony. “He is committed to serving his community.”

group posing by fire truck

Dakota Electric board members congratulate Jake Toledo (L-R): Director Jim Sheldon, Dir. Paul Trapp, Dir. Bill Holton, Dir. Judy Kimmes, Tom Gergen, CEO Greg Miller, Arne Rauvola, Board Chair David Jones, Chief Kevin Whitson, Paul Gergen, Jake Toledo, TJ Nordling and Dale Hallcock.

Toledo was appreciative of the recognition and thanked the rest of the department and Dakota Electric for the award. Along with the award for Toledo, Dakota Electric provided a $5,000 check to the fire department.

“I’d like to thank Dakota Electric for this award,” said Chief Whitson, who added that they will use the $5,000 donation for personal protective gear of full coveralls for the entire department.

“Dakota Electric is happy to be able to provide a contribution to the department for this equipment,” Board Chair David Jones said, “and it is clear that Jake Toledo was an excellent choice for this year’s Spirit of Excellence award.”