This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Dakota Electric Association’s membership cast their vote in the cooperative’s annual election. This year, three incumbents were re-elected and one new board member seated.
The election results were as follows:
District 1John (Jack) DeYoe, Lakeville, (incumbent) received 7,922 votes.
District 2Bill Middlecamp, Apple Valley, received 7,964 votes.
District 3Margaret D. Schreiner, Eagan, (incumbent) received 6,341 votes; James Wrobleski, Eagan, received 2,089 votes.
District 4Paul Bakken, Eagan, (incumbent) received 5,241 votes; Paul Trapp, Hastings, received 3,223 votes.

The bylaw amendment to allow replacement ballots passed (7,199 yes; 1,216 no).

While the annual meeting was canceled due to COVID-19, the elections process continued as normal with voting taking place by mail and online.

Dakota Electric members who wish to view the reports that would have been given at the annual meeting can see them online.

CEO Greg Miller highlighted the company’s outstanding safety record, low electric rates, reliability improvements and other items. Board Chair Jerry Pittman mentioned the great service the staff continues to provide even during the COVID-19 pandemic, multiple awards Dakota Electric has received and the board’s work on the cooperative’s strategic and operating plan.

Pittman also had a tribute to board member Janet Lekson, district 2, who passed away in February. Board Treasurer Jim Sheldon provided a report on the 2019 financials.

“We are sorry we could not hold the annual meeting this year,” Pittman said. “However, we wanted to still provide the reports to our members, so we made them available online in a short video.”