This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

MSS and BrainPower in a BackPack are named runners up

Dakota Electric Association named Angel Foundation, Mendota Heights, as the local 2021 Touchstone Energy Community Award winner. Midwest Special Services (MSS), Apple Valley, and BrainPower in a BackPack, Burnsville, were named runners-up, and each of the non-profits received a plaque and a check for $500.

three people holding plaque

L-R: Dir. Bill Holton, vp development Kathy Tolo, Dir. David Jones

“Dakota Electric is proud to be able to recognize these organizations doing great work in our local communities,” said Greg Miller, Dakota Electric’s president and chief executive officer. “As a member-owned cooperative, we are committed to our local communities, and this is one way we encourage and honor those who are like-minded.”

Angel Foundation provides support and financial assistance to people and their families who are battling cancer. Over the last 20 years, Angel Foundation has provided more than $10 million in aid to 20,000 Minnesotans. The support is available to those who have an income level below 200% of the Federal poverty guideline.

MSS has been supporting people with disabilities for more than 70 years, and currently serves about 70 people in Apple Valley. People who are served create art, go to work, connect with friends, explore new opportunities, go to the gym and more.

BrainPower in a BackPack, Burnsville, is a community service project that has high school student volunteers packing backpacks of food for students in middle school, elementary school and preschool who are from families that can use the help. Each week, more than 800 students are provided with food.

4 people holding plaque

L-R: Dir. David Jones, MSS Program Director Kevin McCaleb, Dir. of Development Shannon Brumbaugh, director Bill Holton.

Since 2005, the Touchstone Energy Community Award has recognized organizations for their outstanding contributions to the local community.

The Angel Foundation award application will be submitted to the statewide Minnesota Touchstone Energy Community Award. The statewide award recipient will be selected from local award winners throughout Minnesota and will receive $1,000. The Minnesota Touchstone Energy Community Award will be announced in March, during the Minnesota Rural Electric Association’s annual meeting in St. Paul.

group of high school students

Directors Stacy Miller and David Jones (in the back) with students and staff who help pack backpacks with food.