This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

FARMINGTON, Minn. (July 1, 2023) — Dakota Electric recently awarded scholarships to 102 talented high school students in the local area, empowering them to pursue their post-secondary education. Additionally, students enrolled at Inver Hills Community College and Dakota County Technical College will be granted scholarships this fall, with a total of $160,000 allocated from the cooperative’s unclaimed capital credits.

Since 1990, Dakota Electric has demonstrated its commitment to supporting students in pursuing their educational aspirations by donating over $2,000,000 towards post-secondary education.

“We are delighted to assist our local students in this manner,” stated Ryan Hentges, President and CEO of Dakota Electric. “As a not-for-profit electric cooperative, we take great pride in using unclaimed capital credits to provide these scholarships, as we view it as an investment in the future of our local youth.”

The following students have been selected as scholarship recipients for this year:

Group of students standing with a member of Dakota Electric Board of Directors

Apple Valley High School

Arsen Hanuschak

Fatumo Ibrahim

Mohamed Jeylani

Lindsay Maxfield

Samsunnee Ouch

Gael Pelaez Garcia

Stefany Larios Salazar

Helen Tekie

Fabiha Yavi

Najma Yusuf

Burnsville High School

Asha Abas

Vincent Birch

Ava Drobnick

Eddie Gonzales

Satta Kanu

Jack Machacek

Charles McGuire

Nicholas Meuser

Jack Steglich

Peter Voight

Cannon Falls High School

Ava Brokate

Lucas Erickson

Bryce Peer

Eagan High School

Galata Benya

Ben Picha

Evelyn Torres

Will Walters

Daniel Wochnick

Eastview High School

Asho Abdi

Nadira Haguf

Jordan McVay

Ariana Navarro

Maidah Omar

Solina Semie

Vin Vuong

Yashodev Vyas

Rabeah Way

Josh Yoo

Farmington High School

Joyce Cubero Melero

Kyara Gordon

Kyle Jones

Elise Lissick

Jason Mrosla

Hannah Newman

Hannah Ryan

Parker Sinner

Ava Sullivan

Benjamin Thompson

Hastings High School

Sydney Bowker

Jakob Cummings

Cash Harder

Paige Klebe

Kody Niederkorn

Hunter Olson

Jacob Schield

Theodore Schirmers

William Selin

Zarek Walz

Lakeville North High School

Adelina Ahmetovic

Aamna Bashir

Michael Fritz

Ethan Kimmel

Marisa McBurney

Benjamin Montbriand

Gintare Piscikaite

Benjamin Shea

Lina Shen

Jasmine Woo

Lakeville South High School

Elizabeth Blilie

Kate Clark

Mason Ertel

Taylor Radaich

Wyatt Ronn

Kayli Starkey

Carrie Tiong

Rebecca Tupy

Linnea Tureson

Zoe Zweber

Northfield High School

Melany Corona Amores

Joseph Benson

Daniel De La Torre


Brady Niebur

Anna Olsen

Red Wing High School

Kennedy Knapp

Abe Reinitz

Brooke Strusz

Rosemount Senior High School

Justin Cave

Aaron Cota

Zoe Hilgart

Kate Hoff

Avrora Nikolaeva

Meagan Phillips

Victor Pyne

Joshua Simelgor

Cecelia Tentis

Ashley Xiong

Simley Senior High School

Ava Husemann

Samira Mohammed

Two Rivers High School

Emily Christiansen

Miles Dunn

Nolan McNally

Ava Warford