This post contains outdated information and is kept for archived purposes only.

Representatives from both Dakota County Technical College (DCTC) and Inver Hills Community College (IHCC) visited Dakota Electric Association’s board room recently to thank the board of directors for Dakota Electric’s support of education. 

Bob Erickson, DCTC Foundation chair and Lakeville school board member; Tharan Leopold, DCTC Foundation executive director; Gail Morrison, IHCC Foundation executive director and Dick Graham, IHCC Foundation board chair all came on behalf of their educational institutions to say “thank you” to Dakota Electric for its significant scholarship donations over the years. 

Erickson said that the scholarships Dakota Electric provides for students are “a very valuable resource.” He spoke with area superintendents who all said, “they appreciated the scholarships. They are significant and meaningful” to students. He added, “Your leadership has brought other cooperatives to help and provide support as well.”

Dakota Electric donates unclaimed capital credits money each year to area high schools and the two colleges. In 2013, $136,000 was donated to help students with post-secondary education.